Borders is closing…is this the end to all bookstores?

Well folks, sorry I’ve been away for so long. I’ve been busy working on my first draft while also working a full time day job and juggling other personal stuff. But I’m back and I will try to update every week or couple weeks if I can. If anyone has any ideas of topics or would like me to blog about something of interest to you, please let me know.

I’m sure most of you have already heard the news. Borders is closing its doors. And by September they will all be out of business. When I first heard about this, part of me wasn’t surprised. I knew it would probably go out of business sooner or later. With competition from Amazon and e-Readers, Borders surviving the battle of retail stores to online and electronic sales, their demise was inevitable.

As an avid reader, I must admit I am one of the consumers who have chosen Amazon over bookstores. Amazon has cheaper prices on books I enjoy reading. Borders seemed overpriced to me and I very rarely have bought books from them. Don’t get me wrong, it was nice to go into a brick and mortar once in awhile and browse the shelves of many different genres of books. Having a coffee shop was a plus too. But when it came down to my dollar I planned on spending, I usually opted for online shopping.

But as I look at the whole demise of Borders, I can’t forget to think about the thousands of people who will be out of work come September. It’s ashame those employees have fallen victim to the struggling economy.

As  I writer I’m not sure how their closing would affect book sales in general. It seems to me, as I’m sure others would agree that book readers will either join the Internet buying bandwagon, purchase an electronic reader where they can download books and magazines or go to their local library. And libraries are also struggling to stay afloat. I don’t know if I’ll ever buy an e-reader like the Kindle because I enjoy actually holding the book in my hand and turning the pages. But everyone as their own preferences.

Hopefully other bookstores will stay open, especially Barnes and Noble. Although I haven’t heard if they’ll be closing anytime soon.

Feel free to leave your comments to this news. What are your thoughts? Are you saddened that there will no longer be a physical building to go to purchase books? Or are you an online shopper and aren’t really effected by them closing their doors?

Like they always say, when one door closes another one always opens.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. loretta
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 02:49:33

    The Borders in Montgomeryville is such a big store. I wonder what will take it’s place… I am glad to see you blogging again.

    Reply

Leave a comment