Time of My Life

“I carried a watermelon.” Baby did just that and so did I this past weekend in Virginia at the Dirty Dancing Weekend! Remember that famous line in the movie that Baby says to Johnny when they first meet? If you love this movie like I do, you have probably seen it a zillion times like me. How many of you devoted fans know where the movie was filmed? I’ll give you a hint, it wasn’t in the Catskills.

ImageDirty Dancing was filmed in two locations: Lake Lure, NC and Pembroke, VA at the Mountain Lake Hotel. In the movie, the hotel was called Kellerman’s.This past weekend my husband and I had the luxury of spending three days at the location where some of the scenes were shot and the cast stayed. It was amazing to be there where Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Grey once showed off their wonderful chemistry and sexy dance moves.

One of the highlights of the weekend was when Nick (husband) and I took dance lessons. The instructors taught us the Mambo, Merengue and Fox Trot, the same dances in the movie. It was pretty fun! Except I found myself getting a little frustrated when Nick wouldn’t lead. Dancing is definitely harder than I thought. We’ll just have to practice our Fox Trot a little more. I need to trust that he will lead.

One of the best parts of the tour was when the manager took us to the kitchen and I got my picture taken in the same spot Penny sat crying in the movie. It was really cool!!

So between the tour of the property and seeing where the scenes were filmed, dancing at night under a disco ball and being transported back to 1963 made me feel like I was with Baby and Johnny. Being at the same location where my favorite fillm of all time was made was incredible! I can definitely say I had the Time of My Life!

Leave a comment